You don't have to loose any data when updating, upgrading or doing a fresh install.
The data and settings are in the database and Tiki scripts take charge of updating it when moving up.
Thank you for that Bernard,
I have relayed this into our sysadmin. We are attempting the install sometime in the next day. Hopefully we won't run into problems but if we do we will reach out again